empezando de nuevo.

Bueno, llegó el momento para empezar este blog de nuevo. Estaba pensando en mi blog hace unas semanas ya… pensando en si voy a empezar a escribir otra vez durante este viaje a Argentina. Al principio no sabía si íba a tener las ganas o las palabras pero hoy fuí a ver una película al cine y en mi camino de vuelta al departamento empecé a pensar en el blog con ganas de escribir. No se porque fue ese momento… pero así fue, y acá estoy, escribiendo de nuevo.

Por supuesto te vas a notar que hay una diferencia y esta diferencia ocurrió en mis pensamientos cuando estaba caminando recién pensando en el blog. Quiero tratar de escribirlo en castellano. Porque para mi es una cosa muy importante, quiero hablar mejor y estoy practicando pero me parece que escribiendo en castellano va a ayudarme también. En general es mas fácil escribir en castellano (por lo menos para mi) porque cuando escribas podes tomar todo el tiempo que necesitas en vez de cuando hablas tenes que tener las palabras a mano (mas en Argentina donde hablan muy rápido) pero aunque es muy diferente es una forma de practicar y expresarme en este idioma.

En realidad, me parece que el idea de tratar de escribir en castellano vino porque fui a ver una película Argentina (en castellano, por supuesto) y entendí casi todas las palabras hasta los chistes (y los chistes, aveces, no son fácil de entender). Ese fue, por mi, una gran cosa y me puse feliz.

Entonces, espero que podes tener paciencia conmigo y con mis palabras llena de errores y espero que vas a poder entender lo que quiero compartir sobre mis días acá en Argentina.


And now… in English.

I won’t translate word for word because there is a difference between writing in Spanish and writing in English and one cannot simply directly translate one to the other… so, in other words…

This blog was an important part of my time here in Argentina in 2016 and as I prepared to come here again this year I spent much time thinking about whether or not I was going to write again. I also had many people asking me and my answer was ‘I don’t know…’ because really, I didn’t. I was not sure if I would have the same desire to write as I did before or if the words would come as easily. Tonight though, as I was walking back to the AirBnB I am staying at in Buenos Aires I started to think about the blog again and felt that desire to write… but with a difference. I thought about how I truly want to practise my Spanish and how it is something of great importance to me. And I think the fact that I had just been to see an Argentinean movie and understood it all (even down to the jokes!) played a part as well. I felt proud that I had been able to understand the movie so well, and while understanding is so much easier than speaking, it is still something. Writing is also easier than speaking, at least for me. Because when you write you can take all the time you need to think things through but when you speak it is that much harder because the words aren’t always right there where you need them in the moment you want them… this is especially challenging here in Argentina where everyone seems to speak so loudly and quickly. In any case, I figure that writing in Spanish is something that will help me as it will encourage me to think in Spanish… and hopefully with that will come a better ability to keep up in conversations as opposed to getting lost trying to conjugate verbs. Of course, my writing is far from perfect and there will be many mistakes but hopefully those reading the Spanish version will understand, mas o menos.

And while I hope to follow through with writing this time I make no promises, I do not want to force myself to write, but if/when the desire strikes, I will carry on.

 

 

13 thoughts on “empezando de nuevo.

  1. So good to hear from you ❤️
    Write when you wish and not you don’t ❤️
    I still would like to know what your travels are all about😉
    Wishing you wonderful times, Carmen 😘
    Hugs
    Sandi ❤️

    Like

    • Thanks, Sandi! I am here again to travel, visit family and friends… then back to work in January. It is good to be back. Hope that you are doing well, we really must get together sometime once I am back, it has been far too long!

      Like

      • Good for you 🙂
        I was actually planning to come to the school and make a plan with you 🙂 for a visit😊
        I need knitting advice🙄! Lol hands on 😉
        It can wait 😘 😊
        I am excited for your adventure❣️ You deserve so much in the way of good things. Don’t shop too much for you little niece, Luci(name?) 😉 you have to get it all home! Lol
        I’m brutal about that and we have 5 grandkids so far! Lol
        Hugs for safe and happy travels 🙂
        You going to see your little town and school friends?
        ❤️

        Like

  2. I think both of your main ideas have merit: write in Spanish and we non-Spanish speakers can easily use Google Translate.
    Write because YOU want to, and not for the 38 other good reasons to (maybe) do so.
    Bonne chance! (Since French is my only other language….à ce moment 🙂

    Like

  3. Love it to hear from you
    I am so use to Instagram giving me a Translate button that I scrolled through the Spanish and voila I found you manually provided such.. bless you
    😂😂🎉💥
    As to writing I have been negligent in my blog on WordPress about cruises 🚢 but I have been a wee more active with my Facebook cruise side
    So am I lazy or is it just being busy with family expectations and we were away in Barbados 🇧🇧 for five weeks with family
    We can support each other 😂😎
    Welcome back
    Rob

    Like

Leave a comment